Alright its exam time here incase you hadn’t noticed and I am a crazy procrastibaker. Now this trait is something my housemates love, (who wouldn’t want to come home to chocolate-chip cookies?) but its a real issue for getting things accomplished. So this semester I thought I’d be proactive.

On Monday night I baked my little heart out. I made a huge curry two quiches and a pear tart with a crumble base. The Idea was that if I set my self up with food for the week I can study and not get distracted by cooking breaks. I will let you know how it goes but here are a few pics of what the night produced.

Image

(the cookbook shelf of inspiration, reading cook books is one of my favourite study breaks!)

Image

(the beginnings of dessert and quiches)

Image

(caramelised red onion and sweet potato stage one of quiche complete)

Image

(added a whole lot of spinach and feta and it was super delish when all baked up)

next it was dessert time and this was so yum I’m going to share the recipe with you.

Image

Image

(this was super delicious, really sweet but the rosemary gave it a woody feel mmmmm)Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pear and Rosemary Tart with a Crumble Base

  • 3 large green pears
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 3/4 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon (ground)
  • 2/3 cup butter (melted)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
set the oven at 180’c
Combine flour, brown sugar, rolled oats, coconut, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl until evenly mixed through.
lightly melt the butter (do not burn or boil it just get it a bit soft so it will coat everything nicely) and add vanilla essence to butter, stir through.
Then add your wet to dry mix and combine
pour mix into a pie tin with baking paper. with your hands push the batter down flat and so it covers the whole base. it should look like one giant oatmeal cookie. blind bake the crust for 30 minutes (please note my oven takes a much longer to bake things than what recipes usually say so check at 15 minutes what you want is a golden crisp base, remember it will firm up when it cools)
remove and allow to cool slightly
core and chop the pears. toss them in lemon juice and brown sugar and arrange on top of crumble base,
add sprigs of rosemary and put back in the oven for 15 minutes to cook the pears.
enjoy with good quality vanilla ice cream
xx
