Last Sunday we had a gorgeous baby shower. All sunflowers and happy, happy yellows. It was a perfect celebration for a little baby niece of Toms which is expected to join the family in 1 month. I am so excited to meet this little bundle and know her parents are beside themselves and can’t wait to meet her.

This being the first niece for Tom, we wanted to make something really special for the bub. I think I’ve made it quite clear that I am a huge supporter of homemade or individualised gifts so what follows probably isn’t much of a surprise. Jaime the mama to be has a special place in her heart for India and has a lot of indian fabrics in her room, so we settled on a baby mobile using indian hanging elephants.

The elephants started life as a wall hanging I bought off Ebay and then chopped up into single elephants. Purple jersey fabric was wrapped around a metal hoop and you dont want to know how many tiny glass beads we used. There was a lot of late nights of beading including a very cool Saturday night where Tom and I sat side by side beading (and yes I love him even more for doing craft with me late into the night). I tell you it was all worth it because the end result is a pretty mobile for what will be the cutest baby girl ( I know this already I swear!) and it was loved by the mum to be, making her very happy, so I would say that is a job well done. There is even talk of making this an heirloom of sorts and used for all babies in the family of this generation, so lucky I made sure we quadruple tied ever knot!

ImageImageImageImageImage

